About AES


There must always be Anishinaabe. We, the Anishinabek, must prepare our citizens for the quality of life based on the highest standards of Anishinaabe intellectual, holistic knowledge that supports the preservation and on-going development of the Anishinaabe.

The Anishinabek Education System will make positive advances in:

  • Anishinabek student success;
  • Increasing graduation rates;
  • The development of culturally relevant curriculum and educational programs;
  • Effective and efficient financial management and administration of education funding;
  • Reliable and relevant First Nation education research, records, reporting and accountability; and
  • Viable education partnerships that support the Anishinabek First Nation’s educational goals.


In 1995, the Anishinabek Nation Chiefs-in-Assembly mandated the Restoration of Jurisdiction Department at the Union of Ontario Indians to lead the self-government negotiations with Canada to restore jurisdiction over education.

The Anishinabek Nation Chiefs envisioned negotiation of a self-government education agreement to provide Anishinabek students with culturally appropriated education, and to improve education opportunities to succeed.

In 1997, an Education Working Group was established to support the education negotiations. The working group was made up of education administers, teachers, and leaders to pursue an Education Final Agreement with Canada.

In 1998, negotiations were started with Canada for jurisdiction over education. In 2002, an Agreement-in-Principle was signed at Mnjikaning First Nation.
Negotiations are now over and the ratification process has started and will continue until the ratification vote takes place.


The Anishinabek Education System consists of a central education body, regional education councils and Anishinabek First Nations. The First Nations will make their own education laws, and will appoint the central body’s board. They can also choose to set up local and regional bodies to coordinatre services, draw upon regional expertise, and respond to their concerns.


The Kinoomaadziwin Education Body will distribute education funds provided by the federal government, worth about 100,000,000 a year. It will set up educational policies and guidelines, implement standards for diplomas and certificates, and manage education relationships with the provincial government.
The First Nations that join the education system will work together through Kinoomaadziwin to identify and manage their educational priorities, and the systems’ governance. They will appoint 10 directors to oversee this central body, and 5 of the directors will also be members of a Finance Committee that will monitor the distribution of the education funds.


Anishinabek First Nations have agreed to set up regional councils to coordinate the support for education programs and services. Each Regional Education Council’s exact roles and duties will be determined by its member First Nations.


Each First Nation may set up a local education board or committee to manage it educational programs and services at the community level.


Today there are 21 Anishinabek First Nation schools, located at 20 First Nations. The proposed AES would group them in 5 regions.

  • Regional Education Council #1
    (6 schools) Long Lake No.58 (K-12), Biingitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek (JK-8, Alternative High School), Red Rock, Fort William, Pays Plat, Biigtgong Nishnaabeg (JK-8, Alternative High School), Pick Mobert (JK-8)
  • Regional Education Council #2
    (3 schools) Michipicoten, Garden River (Alternative High School), Thessalon, Mississauga (Alternative High School), Sagamok (JK-8), Atikameksheng Anishinawbek
  • Regional Education Council #3
    (3 schools) Whitefish River (JK-6), Sheshegwaning (JK-3), Zhiibaahaasing, M’Chigeeng (JK-8), Aundeck Omni Kaning, Sheguiandah
  • Regional Education Council #4
    (3 schools) Nipissing (9-12), Wahnapitae, Dokis (JK-4), Henvey Inlet, Magnetawan, Wasauksing (JK-8), Moose Deer Point)
  • Regional Education Council #5
    (7 schools) Algonquins of Pikwakanagan, Beausoleil (JK-8), Curve Lake (JK-3), curve Lake (JK-3), Alderville, Chippewas of Rama (K-8), Mississaugas of Scugog, Chippewas of Georgina Island (K-5), Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point (JK-8), Chippewas of the Thames (JK-8), Munsee-Delaware, Aamjiwnaang (JK-K)




Scroll to Top